Judging Panel

An independent panel of recognised and expert judges, representing the Health & Safety profession, will determine the winners of the Health & Safety Excellence Awards.

We understand the importance of a fair and objective judging process. That's why we assemble a prestigious panel of industry leaders, renowned for their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm, and expertise in the health and safety industry.

Our selection process is meticulous. Judges are bound by strict confidentiality agreements and declare any potential conflicts of interest. Entries with conflicts are reassigned, ensuring complete impartiality.

This unwavering commitment to integrity is the foundation of our awards programme. Become a part of recognising industry excellence. If you're interested in joining the judging panel, email your details to judges@businessriver.com

A comprehensive judging process has been developed to decide the winners of the Health & Safety Excellence Awards.

2024 Judging Panel

Mike Ahern

General Manager, Wildlands

Michael is currently the General Manager at Wildlands in Galway. Wildlands opened in 2020 and is a 40-acre adventure park catering for more than 200,000 visitors per year across functions such as adventure, food & beverage, events and accommodation. VIEW MORE

Rafael Bernardes

Quality & Continuous Improvement Manager, Dublin Bus

Rafael Bernardes is an Industrial Engineer by profession with over twelve years of business experience, change management, business transformation, QEHS compliance, and strategy through private sector organisations in different businesses, nationally and internationally. VIEW MORE

Elaine Bowers

Senior EHS Executive, Ibec

Elaine is an experienced EHS professional who has worked in a wide range of business sectors. She is currently managing EHS training and consultancy services in Ibec Academy which includes open courses, as well as customised training and consultancy solutions for companies VIEW MORE

Conor Buggy

Associate Professor, University College Dublin

Director of the UCD Centre for Safety and Health at Work / Associate Professor in Occupational and Environmental Studies VIEW MORE

Colm Byrne

Safety, Health & Wellbeing Manager, RTÉ

Colm is a safety, health and wellbeing professional with a broad experience background. In 2020 Colm joined Radió Teilifís Éireann (RTÉ) to lead up the safety health and wellbeing function. VIEW MORE

Alison Connolly

Assistant Professor, University College Dublin (UCD)

An Assistant Professor in the UCD Centre for Safety and Health at Work (CSHW) within the UCD School of Public Health, Physiotherapy and Sports Science and the Programme Director of the UCD Higher Diploma of the Safety, Health and Well-Being at Work. VIEW MORE

Aine Donovan

Director of Quality & Risk, Centric Health

Áine, Dir. Quality, Safety & Risk at Centric Health, who has been there for 21 years, leads a dedicated Quality, Safety & Risk team that includes, QBus Partners, their DPO & the Heads of Nursing, who are all integrated with the Board's drivers of improved care. VIEW MORE

Stephen Doyle

Corporate Sales Manager, City Electrical Factors

Stephen has worked in the electrical wholesaling industry for over 15years, Stephen works in partnership with his customers to deliver innovative value driven solutions to both them and their clients. VIEW MORE

Patricia Ennis

Lecturer (Retired), TU Dublin

Patricia recently retired from TUDublin and now works as an occupational Health and Safety Consultant and Corporate Trainer (Self-employed). She specialises in chemical safety training. VIEW MORE

Shareleen Jansen van Vuuren

EHS Manager, Tritech Group

I am Shareleen Jansen Van Vuuren, the EHS Manager for Tritech Group. I have 16 years of EHS Managerial experience. I am South African with a background in mining and construction. I currently Manage all EHS functionalities within the business with the support of a successful EHS team. VIEW MORE

Jennifer Lee

Health and Safety Manager, ARYZTA

Jennifer has worked in the field of Occupational Health and Safety for 12+ years, in a range of industries - from IT, construction and manufacturing. VIEW MORE

Kathy McDonald

EHS Lead, Pfizer Irl Pharmaceuticals (Newbridge)

Kathy has an extensive career spanning over 20 years in various industry. She is currently EHS lead at Pfizer's manufacturing plant in Newbridge, Co. Kildare. VIEW MORE

Yvette Moffatt

Health & Safety Manager, RCSI

Yvette has extensive experience in health and safely across various industries over the last over 20 years, currently working in the education sector. Yvette is a member of IOSH Council and involved with its mentoring programme, supporting members with their professional development goals. VIEW MORE

Reddy Morley

Transport Infrastructure Ireland, Transport Infrastructure Ireland

Reddy is a Chartered Engineer and a Chartered Safety and Health Practitioner, with experience in the highly safety-regulated industries of mining, construction, and light rail. VIEW MORE

Jessica Rigley

Principal Occupational Health & Safety Manager, BAM Ireland

Jessica is highly experienced, dedicated, Health and Safety professional who has accumulated over 24 years’ experience within the construction industry both in Ireland and the Middle East. VIEW MORE

Eddie Ronayne

Safety Advisor, Cork County Council

Eddie Ronayne has over 22 years’ experience in OH&S. As head of safety & wellbeing in Cork County Council for 22years, Eddie was instrumental in leading Cork Co. Co. to full certification of its SMS to ISO 45001 and its wellbeing programme to the IBEC Keepwell Mark. VIEW MORE

Julianne Shine

Senior EHS Specialist, Boston Scientific Clonmel

Julianne is an experienced Environmental, Health & Safety professional with a demonstrated history of working in both the aerospace industry and medical device industry. She has progressed throughout the years from her role as an EHS Graduate to her current position of Senior EHS Specialist. VIEW MORE

Penpatra Sripaiboonkij

Lecturer/Programme Director, University College Dublin

Dr. Penpatra Sripaiboonkij has comprehensive knowledge in the area of occupational health and safety VIEW MORE